top of page
Mad sitting and leaving a review

Testimonials

We take all feedback very seriously so that we can continuously highlight areas for improvement. Below is a selection of patient testimonials. 

Leave us a review on Google

NG

Thanks for your super professional approach this evening

 

Nicola has some laser treatment on a tear and seems much relieved the ordeal is all over !!I’ve got her resting ! 

 

I have to say the whole experience was truly amazing thanks to you and Brendan Lang at Singleton / it has restored our belief in decent kind human behaviour !!

22/08/2023

JT

The care offered by Judith Roberts Opticians (and it really is care!) is outstanding. The whole team are knowledgeable, professional and helpful. I have been under the care of Austin for many years, and have always felt extremely lucky to be. He has always helped, advised and reassured me. Tip top technology, full explanations, and all questions answered. The whole team are fantastic. THANK YOU.

01/06/2023

L & B

When you have your eyes tested, as long as you use a reputable optometrist you’d be forgiven for assuming that they’d all be pretty much the same. However it is when there’s a problem that you find the true value of an experienced, knowledgeable and dedicated optometrist, which is what we found with Austin, when our daughter was diagnosed with progressive keratoconus. Although the condition couldn’t be treated by Austin, his quick and accurate diagnosis, advice and contacts were invaluable, he gave us the confidence to question, and have faith in our decisions. He was very supportive, and basically held our hands and reassured us throughout, he always answered any question we had and always made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. He genuinely cared. We remain very grateful.

30/05/2023

SA

I was hugely impressed with the service I received.  It was reassuring, informative, personal yet professional.  I cannot recommend them highly enough.

25/05/2023 

AA

My wife and I recently had eye examinations with Joe and Judith. We were very impressed with the standard of the eye tests and felt confident with the results. The professional approach of all the staff is superb. We would definitely recommend.

25/05/2023

EP

I was referred to Judith Roberts opticians having being diagnosed with keratoconus 15 years ago. Austin and the team have worked in great detail to ensure that my vision is the best it could be. The knowledge and skill the team have in understanding the condition and the latest technologies available to me are outstanding. It is always invaluable to know that the team at Judith Roberts Opticians are always on hand to assist with any queries.

22/05/2023

AO

I have been a patient here for a few years now and would not go elsewhere. The examination is always really thorough, the staff very friendly, informative and helpful, there is a great choice of glasses (prices being reasonable too) and the aftercare has always been really good.
Would highly recommend (and indeed have done to local friends).

22/05/2023 

AL

When my husband and I returned home to Swansea in 2012, we were recommended to use Judith Roberts, and it was a decision that we have never regretted.

My husband has Macular Degeneration, and therefore needs regular assessments of his vision and we have found that the tests he has had are as good as if not better than those at Singleton Hospital. I have also had excellent experiences, having regular tests with Hannah.
All the staff are so very friendly but also professional. Their expertise in finding the most suitable frames and ensuring that they are well fitting and comfortable are second to none.
I couldn't pick out one member of staff over the others, they are all a pleasure to deal with. We would never go anywhere else.

18/05/2023

S

Having been a customer of Judith Roberts Opticians for over 24 years, I have received an outstanding level of service from Austin Roberts and his team from Day 1.

 

With my government employment taking all across the UK and indeed the globe; often at short notice, no request for Austin has been too much, whether that be the provision of new prescription glasses or indeed the dispatch of contact lenses to a far away country.

 

Add to that service, impeccable advise, counsel and professionalism and I would recommend Judith Roberts Opticians to anyone who is looking for a 1st class ‘Rolls Royce” level of service. Good luck to the team for the future!

06/05/23

SB

RM

One very outstanding optometrist.... for anyone out there needing a general optician service don't look anywhere else as is and more importantly... anyone looking for a technical optometrist service from lands end to scotland.. this is an amazing team, so capable of so much more....


As a kerateconus patient, Austin has given me the best treatment outside of Moorfields of London. And that is saying something...

 

Austin has only your sight and wellbeing in mind and sacrifices so much of his own time so we can enjoy one of the greatest gifts we have ..sight..

10/04/23

AL

When my husband and I returned home to Swansea in 2012, we were recommended to use Judith Roberts, and it was a decision that we have never regretted.

My husband has Macular Degeneration, and therefore needs regular assessments of his vision and we have found that the tests he has had are as good as if not better than those at Singleton Hospital. I have also had excellent experiences, having regular tests with Hannah.
All the staff are so very friendly but also professional. Their expertise in finding the most suitable frames and ensuring that they are well fitting and comfortable are second to none.
I couldn't pick out one member of staff over the others, they are all a pleasure to deal with. We would never go anywhere else.

18/05/2023

S

Having been a customer of Judith Roberts Opticians for over 24 years, I have received an outstanding level of service from Austin Roberts and his team from Day 1.

 

With my government employment taking all across the UK and indeed the globe; often at short notice, no request for Austin has been too much, whether that be the provision of new prescription glasses or indeed the dispatch of contact lenses to a far away country.

 

Add to that service, impeccable advise, counsel and professionalism and I would recommend Judith Roberts Opticians to anyone who is looking for a 1st class ‘Rolls Royce” level of service. Good luck to the team for the future!

06/05/23

Where to start...quite simply the best opticians (I should know - I've worked for a few in the dim and distant past!).  

 

Having worn glasses for computer stuff, I got to the age where I needed varifocals, but I was also getting married and didn't want to wear my glasses.  Austin worked with me for months to get the best prescription and comfort contact lenses so that, on my big day, my eyes didn't bother me at all (this also included dropping some lenses personally directly to my house!!).

 

So after Austin had patiently dealt with me through my wedding, I then decided that lenses were the way forward in place of my glasses.  We then spent another 3 months finding a solution that I was happy with.  Every time I was about 95% happy, Austin was determined to find a solution I was 100% happy with.  I now have the perfect solution for my contact lenses.  

 

The eye test provided is also the most comprehensive and well worth having a retinal scan - as a type one diabetic this critical to being able to ascertain if there are indicators of any deterioration in my eyes. I’m a geek - I love all the high tech equipment and the fact that Austin takes the time to explain it all, and show me exactly what is going on with my eyes is brilliant.  I also couldn’t resist some new glasses and sunglasses at my last appointment - the choice of frames, and the care, attention to detail and experience that the dispensing opticians is phenomenal.  

 

The whole family - kids and all - go to Judith Roberts Opticians.  Both Judith and Austin have examined both my children and they went from being nervous about an eye test to absolutely loving the experience and asking a million questions which both Judith and Austin answered in a manner that just made them more interested and they both really learnt how we really see.

 

Quite simply - a local, independent opticians who strive for excellence in everything they do, and achieve it.

 

Thanks to all the staff for taking such good care of me and my family!

05/05/23

Keratoconic Contact Lenses

My name is Mark and I have a complicated eye condition that is corrected with contact lenses and its management over the last 30 years has been a real challenge. I had thought that I had exhausted all avenues to get the best possible vision that I could - but my discovery of Judith Roberts Opticians has been life changing for me. From my first consultation, my eye health and most importantly my vision have been transformed - I literally could see detail, that for years I clearly hadn't - and what better place to do this than in the beautiful surroundings of the Mumbles! I believe that the attention to detail and the use of the latest technology by Austin, with clear step by step involvement of me in the understanding of the fitting process has allowed me to fully appreciate the superb results that I have had with my contact lenses. This is clearly facilitated by the links made by the practice, with Professor  Muhtaseb and his expertise as an Opthalmic Consultant. The visit is always a pleasure as well, the very warm welcome from the practice staff and their support in arranging appointments etc is always first class. I am truly so thankful for the care that I have received and I count myself unbelievably fortunate to have such excellent vision now with my lenses. I only wish that I had discovered the practice many years before I did and would encourage anyone, that if they want the best outcome possible for their vision, then Judith Roberts Opticians, I am confident will facilitate this for you, as they have for me.

Testimonial.jpg

JR

My family and I have been patient's of Judith Roberts for 15 years.

 

The team go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and cared for.

 

The personal touch is wonderful. They will do whatever they can to get the problem resolved and they do it with empathy and kindness.

 

25/04/2023 

PX

Excellent ! I accompanied my husband yesterday for appointment after cataract surgery.

My husband saw Patrick who was so thorough took time to explain everything can't praise him enough.

Have always found staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Keep up the good work.
 

JR

My family and I have been patient's of Judith Roberts for 15 years. The team go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and cared for. The personal touch is wonderful. They will do whatever they can to get the problem resolved and they do it with empathy and kindness.

 

April 2023 

DC

If your eyes are feeling a little weary
And not like they used to be
Perhaps you need a check-up
I know, who you need to see

It’s an award-winning practice
With the latest in eye care technology
The finest attentiveness you couldn’t wish for
By, an extremely specialized team

I’m not one, who grants praise easily
But when it’s due, I have to concede
This fine group of experienced professionals
Will surpass your every need

I’ve been an inmate for quite a while
They’ve always been so astute
From choosing a frame, to make me look smart
And of course, looking profoundly cute

So, you’re all probably wondering
Where this poem is leading too
Well, it’s on Newton road in Mumbles
An Opticians waiting there for you

So glance your eyes upon this prose
And diligently proceed to agree
That Judith Roberts and her erudite team
Will make your eyesight, once more supreme

It’s, not just the care and attention
That Judith and her staff portray
But the warmth, and complete diligence
That makes your visit a memorable stay

You’ll leave Judith Roberts opticians
Reassured and completely at ease
Knowing you’ve been assessed by the very best
In this complex and diverse field

David Clarke 5th May 2022

HM

The service provided at Judith Roberts Opticians can only be described as outstanding.  I have several eye conditions and find the imaging service the best I have ever had.  It’s very reassuring to know that you can rely on the professional help of experts in their field.  I have no hesitation in recommended them to others seeking a high standard of eye care.  Thank you.

D

Having recently moved from Cardiff where I had an excellent optician worried I might not find anyone so thorough.

All my worries were swept aside yesterday.
I saw Austin re eye problem  (not for test )
Austin was so reassuring but more importantly, he checked everything and took time to explain.
I can’t praise service received enough will certainly be returning when my next test is due.

MT

What a wonderful team they have at Judith Roberts Opticians in Mumbles Swansea. I called on the 30/1/19 ( without an appointment) and each member of staff I dealt with was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and very very professional.

Nothing was too much trouble, an altogether positive pleasurable experience – thank you so much. Thank you for the coffee too!

TB

Dear Austin,

This is just to say ‘thanks’ for all the time the team, and in particular yourself, have given me over the last 12 months as I have undergone my two cataract operations.

I have very much appreciated the reassurance you’ve given me through the various assessments and the professionalism you display each time I’ve had a consultation. In a difficult process you have made it very easy.

LA

Outstanding eyecare! Sight tests are extremely thorough and time is taken to know customers well in order to provide the best possible service and treatment.

KS

Judith Roberts is the best Optician I have ever been to. Great Service and after sales. Friendly people, nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended.

PaO

Gwsanaeth heb ei ail. Bendigedig yn arbennig wrth ymdrin a’r plant. Diolch o gallon, tan y fro nesa.

PW

Nothing is too much trouble for these people. We can highly recommend them.

RL

A very thorough examination by Hannah. I certainly learned a lot today. Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Thank you all for a very informative and enjoyable appointment.

JR

First class goods sold by first class staff and super service.

SK

There is a reason that yet again I have travelled from Essex to see Austin. A caring, considerate and professional opinion and advice given. A possible life changing solution to glasses. Thank you again

MG

About 7 months ago Mandy spotted a dangerous abnormality in my eyes. She referred me to Singleton hospital. As a result I had the necessary treatment and the operation has been a complete success. Without the operation I could have gone blind very quickly. I am extremely grateful to you, Mandy, for what you did.

DJ

Thank you for providing the very best service and advice. Mr Joe Warchal was excellent in giving technical support. Keep up the good work.

KB

Thank you…
Excellent service, both from the optician and all the staff. I can see why you won the award.

SW

Thank you for all your care and kindness, you look after us all so well. I would not go anywhere else for good all-round eye care

CH

From the reception desk through to the optician and ending with the dispenser, the experience here is marked by courtesy, patience and kindness.  A thoroughly professional service and one for which I was so grateful. 

AP

I had the best optician session ever. Totally thorough, I have complex eye condition and I couldn’t have been happier with the expertise and attention to detail. Fabulous opticians!

BO

I recently attended your practice for an eye examination and the service that I experienced could not have been improved upon.

 

An appointment, at a time of my choice, was made within a week and Patrick, who conducted the examination, was most thoughtful and it appeared that, there was no time constraints being applied. ‘Quality’ was being pursued. 

 

Andrea then took charge of the frame selection, ordering and fitting and once again, everything was conducted at a measured pace, which was however, most efficient.

 

I would not dream of using any other optician and would highly recommend your practice.

Thank you once again, to all the staff for an excellent, friendly service

bottom of page